TDLR CE Requirements

Licensed Dispensers

Dispenser licenses are renewed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) every 24 months from the initial date of the license. A licensee must acquire 20 hours of continuing education during every 24-month license renewal period or TDLR, by law, is prohibited from renewing the license. A licensee may acquire the 20 hours of continuing education at anytime during the 24-month licensing period. Both the CE course and the CE sponsor of the course must be previously approved by TDLR.

There are also some restrictions:

  • No more than 10 hours per 24-month renewal period may be earned online.
  • No more than 5 hours per renewal period may be earned from a manufacturer sponsor—at least 15 hours must be earned from a non-manufacturer sponsor like THAA.
  • Virtual CE programs have been ruled to be "live/in-person/classroom" CE hours if you are attending the program live as it's being presented.
Learn More About TDLR Requirements
Learn More About TDLR-Approved Course Providers

First-Time Licensee Exemption

When apprentices become licensed for the first time, they are exempt from all CE requirements from the date they receive their first license to the date of their first license renewal. After their first renewal date, the CE requirements above for licensed dispensers apply.

Apprentice Permit Holders

Apprentice permit holders are required to obtain 20 hours of classroom CE during their apprentice year—and online CE for apprentices is not allowed. In addition, no more than 5 hours may be earned from a manufacturer sponsor.

Temporary Permit Holders

Temporary permit holders have no CE requirements.

Anti-Human Trafficking Course Requirement

Beginning September 1, 2020, all licensees under the TDLR's jurisdiction, including hearing aid dispensers, are required to take a course on anti-human trafficking previously approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to get their license renewed. 

HHSC has approved several courses for license renewal. To find the list of currently approved courses click here. Licensees required to take this training may complete any of the training courses on this list. Please be sure to look at the course length and cost, if any, to determine if the course is right for you.

In addition, the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Advisory Board at TDLR has ruled that this one-hour anti-human tracking course will NOT count toward the 20 CE hours required for renewal. The Board determined the subject matter did not fall under the requirements for CE courses set forth in the rules and regulations for hearing aid dispensers currently published in Chapter 112 of the Texas Administrative Code.